Upgrade to Chrome Upgrade to Firefox Upgrade to Internet Explorer Upgrade to Safari
Posted: 12.06.23

Sports Awards 2022 – 2023

Many congratulations to the prize winners at our annual Sports Awards 2023!

The evening centred around the theme ‘Memories’, with John Patterson, Director of Sport, kicking off with an opening address assuring the pupils how fondly they will look back on their school years.

Before the prize ceremony, John continued to thank the many supporters that contributed to our sporting success this year:

  • Vitec Engineering
  • Vale Veterinary
  • The Society of Friends and the OBA
  • Mr and Mrs Price
  • Mr and Mrs Roberts
  • Adill Gatrad
  • Mr Philip Skinner of Ron Skinner and Sons
  • Mr and Mrs Davies (Honddu Vets/NFU)
  • The CCB Sport Team – Mr Howell, Ms Jones, Mr Waldron, Mr Thomas, Mr Strange, Mr Parry and Ms Hardman

Special guest Lowri Norkett, Welsh Rugby International, then spoke to the crowd, alongside her dad Kim, who is a past CCB teacher and first team rugby coach, inspiring the sporting stars of tomorrow to follow in her footsteps.

The prize-giving ceremony started with the Sports Day Awards, with the Victor and Victrix Ludorum awards given to the outstanding male and female athlete on the day – Jack Organ and Olivia O’Brien.

The Girls House Cup contest was separated by a single point, with De Winton House coming out on top and Charlotte McSweeney accepting the award. The Boys House Cup was awarded to Orchard House and representative Jack Perrins.

The team captains then took to the stage, with Poppy and Charlie, Lucy and Poppy, Meg and Floss, and Ewan and Owen each reviewing their team’s year, before the sports awards presentation got underway:


  • Boys Rising Star – Daniel Cheng
  • Girls Rising Star – Sophia Holmes
  • Boys Player of the Year – Senior Charlie Gedge, Year 11 Toby Palmer
  • Girls Player of the Year – Senior Poppy Roberts, Year 11 Eve Jackson


  • Rising Star – Nyah Willis
  • Players Player – 1st team Floss Davies, 2nd team Seren Jenkins
  • Girls Player of the Year –Girls 1st team Meg Iley, 2nd team Katie Powell, Year 11 Darcy Davies
  • Boys Player of the Year – Senior Ben Mclean
  • Llandovery Player of the Match – Floss Davies


  • Rising Star – Tia Aven
  • Players Player – 1st team Julia Wilson, 2nd team Maddie Langley
  • Player of the Year – 1st team Charlotte McSweeney, 2nd team Alex Joseph, Year 11 Maggie Jones


  • Rising Star – Gethin O’Callaghan
  • Players Player – 1st team Harry Holden, 2nd team Tomos Voss-Davies
  • Player of the Year – 1st team Ewan McIntyre, 2nd team James Thomas, Year 11 Oliver Jones
  • OBA Player of the Season 1st Team Rugby – Owen Conquer

Team Awards followed with the array of trophies across the stage showing what a stellar year it has been for our team sports.

  • Girls U16’s Hockey Shield
  • Senior Girls Netball
  • Girls U18’s National Hockey runners up
  • CCB 7s Cup
  • Rugby – Seaford Southern 10s Plate
  • Rugby – East Wales Premier League
  • Rugby – Champion of Champions Finals Cup

The Senior Sport Cap Presentation followed, with Year 13 pupils who have showed dedication and commitment to their sport, fantastic leadership qualities and exemplar behaviour on and off the pitch being honoured and given their leavers cap onstage.

The Captain’s Blazer Presentation proceeded; a high honour for next year’s captains to receive their green and gold blazers.

Next year’s captains are:

  • Girls Hockey – Alex Poole and Annabelle Sykes
  • Boys Hockey – Michael Suter and Ben McLean
  • Girls Cricket – Alex Poole
  • Boys Cricket – Mark Gorodkin
  • Boys 7s – Rhys Pearson
  • Boys Rugby – Ollie Rose and Gethin O’Callaghan

Headteacher Gareth Pearson closed the ceremony with inspiring words, congratulating all winners and wishing leavers the best, before looking ahead to next year for what will no doubt be another excellent year for Christ College Brecon Sport.

Keep reading...

The Good Schools Guide
Best Schools
School Notices
Duke of Edinburgh
HMC Logo