Upgrade to Chrome Upgrade to Firefox Upgrade to Internet Explorer Upgrade to Safari
Posted: 29.07.13

End-Of-Term Celebrations Culminate In Prize Day At Christ College

Following the service, there was a series of exhibitions around the school which were open for parents to visit, as well as a concert in the school Chapel, which commenced at midday. Prior to lunch, the Society of Friends served “Bubbly & Fruit Cocktails” in Henry’s and the Tunnel area.

At 2.00 pm, Prize Giving took place in the Sports Hall. Guest of Honour this year was BAFTA Award-winning Welsh journalist, presenter and newsreader, Huw Edwards. Huw presents the BBC’s flagship news broadcast and Britain’s most watched news programme, BBC News at Ten. He also presents the hour-long BBC News at Five on the BBC News Channel and occasionally presents BBC News at Six. Huw was born in Bridgend in South Wales, and was brought up in Llangennech, near Llanelli. He was educated at Llanelli Boys’ Grammar School and graduated with a first-class honours degree in French from University College, Cardiff in 1983.
Term officially ended following the Prize Day ceremony for all pupils, except the Upper Sixth Leavers. At 3.30pm refreshments were served in “Henry’s” and the Tunnel area and at 4.00pm there was a Leavers’ Service in the Chapel. Always an emotional event for leavers and their families, this year proved no exception with contributions from staff and pupils alike.
The end-of-year celebrations came to a fitting climax with the Summer Ball for Sixth Form pupils and their parents on the Christ College grounds. A beautiful evening was supplemented by a display of sartorial elegance provided by the Sixth Form pupils and their parents. After a wonderful dinner provided by the dedicated and talented catering department, the sun set to some live music and enthusiastic dancing by all. A suitable end to a wonderful school year!
For details of the prizes awarded and the prize winners, please see below:


Walter & Diana Greenwood English (Jnr) Edward J Lewis
Alway Literary Prize Megan L Howe
Norbury English Literature (Snr) Isabel M Thomas
Corbett Winder Debating Cup William D R Thomas
John de Winton – Spanish (Jnr) Freya S C Felgate
C W Kleiser – French (Jnr) Kelly L Tavener
Ruth Wilkinson Modern Languages (Snr) Dyfan R Rowlands
Welsh Prize Isabel M Thomas
Preb Walters Scripture (Jnr) Amy J Baker Lady Jenour Scripture (Snr) Eloise A Heap
Douglas Inglis – History (Jnr) Andrew T N Barry Douglas Inglis – History (Snr) Megan L Gee
Jack Rees – Mathematics (Jnr) Aaron Lau
Roger St Elvan Richards Mathematics (Snr) Tom J Dawson
Lady Brecon Geography (Jnr) Andrew T N Barry Lady Brecon Geography (Snr) Catrin S Bush
Winifred Thomas Science (Jnr): Chemistry Joshua T Denton Biology Bronnie F Davies Physics Neil H T Wang
R E M Meredith – Physics (Snr) Ned Blackburn
O L Hughes – Chemistry (Snr) Annabel E Jones
Dr James Powell – Biology (Snr) Patrick Robinson
Lady Brecon Natural History Greg P Devoy
Francis de Winton Economics Fuson Tam
Harvey Williams Business Studies Georgia E Davis
I W Robinson Design & Realisation (Jnr) Rhodri W C Edwards
A B Electronics Technology (Snr) James R Sweeney
Dr & Mrs F W Gibbs Computing Matthew R Nelson
Dr & Mrs John Sharp Art (Jnr) Leonie R Halpin
Dr & Mrs John Sharp Art (Snr) Ellen J Bishop
Photography (Jnr) Freya S C Felgate
Photography (Snr) Hannah Dunn
Janet Morgan Academic Music Rhiannon Phillips
Colin Ross Instrumental Ned Blackburn
Perpetual Challenge Cup Chisaki Asano
Lord Brecon Singing Isabel F Bridgeman
Cathedral Singers Oliver C Price
S W Hockey Choir Prize Patrick J R Dempsey
Catherine Bishop (Acting) Benjamin S Kriehn
Academic Drama Prize Sophie A Rudge
Harvard Book Prize David R I Silk
Lord Atkin Essay Holly J C Taylor
Walter Greenwood Essay Prize Fiona J Horridge
Most outstanding Boy academically in Alway Matthew G Jenkins
Most outstanding Girl academically in Alway Cari L Lewis
Most outstanding Boy academically in Third Form Milo B Welch
Most outstanding Girl academically in Third Form Aisling C Tarpey
Major J R N Williams – Army: Dominic W Hayes
– RAF Joshua T Denton
Cadre: Luke Henderson
Lord Glanusk Best Shot Cup Rhodri W C Edwards
Jon Williams Contribution to 7-a-side Rugby Cup Iolo O Morgan
John Morgan – Rugby Bentley J Halpin
Mary Hockey Girls’ Games Cup Annabel E Jones
Girls Hockey Player of the Year Natalia M Dowds
Ewart Morgan – Cricket James P Mitchell
Lynne Webber Netball Cup Lowri M Stephens
Gwyn Davies Memorial Trophy James A M Dale
The Adams Cup (Boys Hockey Player of the Year) Tom J Dawson
Alway Improvement Prize Ella Valentine
Society of Friends of CCB (Alway) Craig T Whittall
Richard Evans Endeavour Prize Joseph C G Gowans
The Alexander McIlroy Cup for Courage Alexander G McIlroy
Mervyn Bourdillon Memorial Cup Moe Alothman
Worsley Cup (Most improved girl in middle school) Mimi A Welch
Most Improved boy in Middle School Theo L Albert
The Baroness Finlay Prize for service to the Community Joseph D G Walker
The Revd Dr Daryll Evans Chapel Catrin E Williams
Hughes Plate (Best Chapel Address) Dominic W Hayes & Douglas J Evans
Society of Friends of Christ College Science Teisha-Lani Lewis
Photography Competition Prize
Duke of Edinburgh Gold Awards Annabel L Dereham (OB)
Joseph Tsang (OB), Lauren Brooks (OB), Andrew M Shough (OB)
Danielle M Osborne (OB), Dylan I Freeman (OB)
Head’s Prizes Sam J Benjamin, Olivia R Reid, James R Sweeney, Fuson Tam
The Alison Hembrow Cup (Inter-House Trophy Girls Donaldson’s House
The Bernard Tillyard Cup (Inter-House Trophy Boys Orchard House
The Dean Rose Bowl Annabel E Jones
W A G Howell (Head of School) Harry D Harris

Keep reading...

The Good Schools Guide
Best Schools
School Notices
Duke of Edinburgh
HMC Logo
Wisc Logo